Reviews and Media

 

A dear friend who has a soul filled with love. Reading a good book!

A dear friend who has a soul filled with love. Reading a good book!

It is quite exciting and nerve-racking having your book read and reviewed by a stranger. Questions run through your mind; have I relayed my message adequately to an audience? Well, here is what they said:  

Weekend Notes Book Review (link):  by Leona Devaz  September 2014 

Lexa Harpell’s debut book is a sweet ode. Her mother’s imminent 90th birthday saw the dark grey-clouds of dementia looming, and Harpell was thrust into a pressing sense of nostalgia. A desperate need to recollect all those fragmented memories of the past washed over her – preserving childhood, teenage years and adult sensibility – became her sole focus, racing against the reality that illnesses like dementia can bring in their arrival. The product is an easy to read 62 page memoir of sorts entitled ‘To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul.’ Carefully selected black and white images of days gone past fill the pages, as do Harpell’s gratitude filled prose. It’s an enchanting idea and a great way to bind all those precious moments into one heart-warming place. Readers will no doubt resonate with the familiarity (hopscotch, crochet, dressing up in your Sunday best) of her writing, especially if you are a Gen x’er!

The book is a handy resource tool to sit down with older children (there’s blank lined pages), talk a walk down your own memory lane or even, an Xmas stocking filler for your own mum. For many, as Harpell will now attest, undertaking a project like this can produce something that is really timeless and a rewarding journeyRead more… (link):

_________________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars Something that should be on everyone’s reading shelf, February 26, 2015

This review is from: To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul: Gifts that Inspire Love and Gratitude (Kindle Edition)
When I started this one, I thought I had an idea of what I would be facing. That idea was very far off the mark. What Lexa has done here is to find the words almost every child has for that special woman in their life who cares for them, nurtures them, and helps them become the person they want to be.There is a lifetime of love and care packed into such a tiny volume, and I am astounded at just how much the simple, evocative phrases and words brought out from my own past just reading through it once. This is definitely a book to go back to time and again. And to use as the work book it is designed to be for exploring your own past.Thank you Lexa for providing the words I would nave never thought of, and for showing a way forward in strengthening family relationships around the world.
________________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars  A Touching, Well Written Tribute13 February 2015

This review is from: To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul: Gifts that Inspire Love and Gratitude (Kindle Edition)
A beautifully written book, touching but never mawkish, simple but insightful, honest but never saccharine. Lexa Harpell has written a touching testament to her mother that weaves everyday childhood memories with unpretentious profound thoughts and reflections. I could tell this was written from the heart. Simplicity truly is the path to happiness and there’s no finer tribute to be made to anyone that having a book like this written in someone’s honour.
_________________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 starsThe author has done us all a great favour by letting us remember what our mothers do 9 Jan. 2015

Format: Paperback
This is the sort of book that is a ‘ once picked up, can’t put it down ‘ type of book. The author has done us all a great favour by letting us remember what our mothers do for us on a daily basis and it’s not, usually, until its too late do we realise it. I quickly skimmed through the book at first, and then when back a page at a time and let my own thoughts dwindle on each page and let my mind drift back to my own parents and all they did and meant to me. Its obvious that the author must have spent long hours deciding what she needed to put in the book that would not only show her feelings for her mother but would also inspire others to look at their lives and relationship as well. The book is well written with photographs illustrated different aspects of her childhood, sometimes humorous, sometimes not, but each page is thought provoking, and with a section that the reader can jot down their own thoughts and make the book their own personal book..

This is not a serious literary work on relationships, but one which just helps the average person see things slightly differently once they have read it.   Highly recommended, __________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 starsTouching and Inspiring … 12 Feb 2015

on 12 February 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
As a rule I don’t read what I call “interactive books”. However “To Mum, Gifts From Your Soul” by Lexa Harpell caught my eye. Maybe it’s because my mother passed away in 1996 from complications due to Alzheimer’s. That had been a difficult time for all of us and I wish I would have had this wonderful book then.
As the author related warm memories of her own mother I began to recall special moments with my mother. In the scope of things the memories of love and gratitude may seem insignificant, but to me they captured the essence of what my mother meant to me. Gazing at Ms Harpell’s photos I decided to look for old photos of times shared with my mother, photos of things we shared, photos she had taken of me and my friends, photos of moments forgotten, pressed between the pages of old albums.
Ms Harpell left blank pages in her book where the reader can share memories of her mother and things that formed her special relationship.
By the end of the book I had ventured into my own past experiences. The story Ms. Harpell told caused me to consider my own story. What better gift can an author give to her reader then the gift of introspection? This is a beautiful book illustrated with photos slightly blurred much as memories are. Anyone who has experienced the rare and wonderful gift of being a mother or being a child will treasure this book. Inspiring and touching it is the kind of gift that can be passed down for generations. I plan to get a copy for my daughter. I can’t wait to read her memories of our time together.
____________________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 starsThis is an incredibly beautiful book. It’s concise   ,January 27, 2015

This review is from: To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul: Gifts that Inspire Love and Gratitude (Paperback)
This is an incredibly beautiful book. It’s concise, honest and brushed with a vulnerability which can only be carefully constructed from the depths of love and pain entwined.Lexa has perfectly captured the essence of a child’s love and admiration towards their parent. To share such intimate memories in an open way, is a brave act which will be forever cherished.Thank you for letting us into a sacred world.
_____________________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars  One  Incrediblely lucky Mum,

By Wolf  March 11, 2015
Verified Purchase
This review is from: To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul: Gifts that Inspire Love and Gratitude (Kindle Edition)
I am an avid thriller writer and reader and have no experience whatsoever in reading much less reviewing a book like this. But my curiosity got the better of me and I am so glad it did. How many of us are looking for the right words to thank our parents for their love, sacrifice and guidance they provided to make us the persons we have become? Lexa Harpell has found those words and never have they been more from the heart, eloquent, touching and meaningful. I’m sure her Mum, where ever she may be right now, is filled with pride and love for her daughter who has found a way to put into words what a lot of us struggle with to say. Everyone should read this book and then remember or hug their parents. And if you cannot find the words, Lexa will guide you step by step. Totally Inspiring !
________________________________________________________________________________
This review is from: To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul: Gifts that Inspire Love and Gratitude (Paperback)
I’ve never read an interactive book before. I picked up To Mum… strictly out of curiosity. It’s not a long book, only sixty pages or so, but, to me, it held more worth than any weighty tome. I was engaged from the introduction: a daughter searching for a special gift to give her ninety-year-old mum in the later stages of dementia. What I enjoyed most is the author finding that perfect gift within a simple field of dandelions, along with her forgotten childhood memories. This is a simple story, a daughter’s recollection via family photos, of the small acts of love from her mother that would shape and enrich her adult life – and eventually bond them together once again. I was very moved by this story and thought it very creative (sheets for reader’s memories are included in the book). I give it a high recommendation.
_______________________________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 starsA Treasure of Love.  on April 21, 2015By umh on April 21, 2015Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

What a wonderful gift Alexa Harpell has created in this beautiful little book to show her love and gratitude to her mother! Old family photos and touching words straight from the heart bring her mother’s small acts of love to life. It’s all so very moving and inspiring! A treasure for her mother and a treasure for me, the reader. Thank you Lexa!

_____________________________________________________

By janetkerr
Ms Harpell was truly blessed. To have such an amazing mom who inspired this book says a lot about her mom. This was certainly a wake up call to look learn and appreciate our own moms and dads too actually. Too often they are just there and we love them because they are our parents but to do as Ms Harpell did and see beyond the familial relationship and discover that that person is someone you can like, admire and look up to is a testament to Ms Harpell.
Thank you

5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Book to Treasure  ,20 Jan. 2015

By Margaret Ann Loveday
This book is a gift, not only a tribute to Lexa’s mother but also for anyone who takes the time to read and meditate within its pages.With beautiful photographs, images, and simple eloquent words, Lexa powerfully and yet gently, turns the mind and emotions of the reader to the past, personalizing our own relationships with our parents, and other people in our lives. I believe that this book will challenge anyone with or without parents to be reminded of all the good things that they have experienced and to appreciate that they did, which will overrule bad and unpleasant emotions.I can relate to ‘blowing dandelions in the air’ as a child, these days, our lives can be so busy that we forget those simple things, which can be the most meaningful, why do we complicate things?Thankyou, Lexa for reminding us of the importance of love and that life and the people in it are precious, we need to cherish and appreciate…I highly recommend this book to anyone to pickup and read often…
________________________________________________________________________
By Christina Walton Canada
This book is lovely! It is a beautiful gift from a daughter to an elderly mother. The gift is not just for the receiver, but also for the giver, as it helps the giver to find gratitude. It is very healing and helps lift the spirit and soul of both the giver and the receiver. It is a labour of love, and the reader is invited to find their own gratitude. Brilliant on many levels!
_________________________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a heartwarming special book written with such love and understanding  ,January 22, 2015

This review is from: To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul: Gifts that Inspire Love and Gratitude (Paperback)
This is a heartwarming special book written with such love and understanding. Lexa Harpell has with painstaking care enlightened the way for others that might have parents with dementia and shows how love, memories and patience is what really matters. Beautiful and simply orchestrated, this would be a treasure to give and to keep.
__________________________________________________________________________
Lexa Harpell inspires us to honor aging parents with the gift of specific memories from our childhood. She writes about times when she felt most loved and most grateful. Family pictures from yesteryear are used as illustrations. This book is a treasure. Thank you, Lexa, for prompting others to use this idea. What a wonderful way to bring a family together by celebrating loving memories.
___________________________________________________________________________
Newsvine Seattle: I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative
and entertaining, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the
nail on the head. The issue is something that too few folks
are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy that I found this during my search for something concerning this.
____________________________________________________________________________
Cheryl Anderson @chermanderson Nov 5 @lexaharpell  This is such a beautiful idea. I also had issue with my mom that came to a halt when caring for her and her dementia.

David Goalstone @ghostwriterREAL Nov 5 @lexaharpell LOVELY sentiment. simple, natural and pure. TO MUM, indeed …

Senior Agenda with Lisa Stockdale says: This is absolutely beautiful! It brought tears to my eyes almost instantly because it is so honest and heartfelt. Thank you for sharing.

SeniorsForLiving.com @Seniors4Living Nov 5 @lexaharpell Yes, such a wonderful idea. Thanks for sharing the link. -M

DrJimFox26 @DrJimFox26 Nov 5 @lexaharpell I like that a lot!

SeniorsForLiving.com @Seniors4Living Nov 5 @lexaharpell You’re welcome. That’s the absolute truth — beautiful way to say it & a great mission/vision for the book! -M

Senior Agenda @senioragenda Oct 31 @lexaharpell Thank you so much for calling into the program! You were wonderful- just like your book!

Senior Agenda @senioragenda Oct 30 @lexaharpell We go live at 10am & it is an hour program so anytime after 10 am. The phone lines get jammed up but just keep trying!

Cheyenne @_DrBryant Nov 4 @lexaharpell Beautiful!! God bless mom.. 🙂

Age Scotland @agescotland Nov 3 @lexaharpell A lovely project! Thank you for sharing.

Alan Arnette @alan_arnette Nov 2 @lexaharpell Beautiful Lexa. Thanks for sharing

SeniorsForLiving.com @Seniors4Living Nov 5 @lexaharpell How wonderful! What a beautiful tribute. Thanks for sharing! -M

HammondCare @HammondCare Nov 4 @lexaharpell Thanks for sharing this – what a beautiful idea.

Alzheimer’s Support @AlzheimersSupp Nov 1 @lexaharpell Beautiful idea. Thanks for sharing

Denise M. Brown @caregiving Nov 4 .@lexaharpell Congrats! Wishing you much success.

____________________________________________________________________

Featured on Balboa Press Fall 2014 Catalogue – Page 92

Balboa Press Fall 2014 Catalog_Web

A wonderful gift for a mother, friends or yourself.

‘My intention was to give a heartfelt give to my mother, it turned out to be the greatest gift I gave to myself.’

Look Inside – click:  COVER BOOK 800   

 Available links:  Balboa Press:     Amazon:     Barnes and Noble:

*Please be aware, this is a picture book, not all background images and fonts appear on E-Book or Kindle version. The translation and visual will be a little lost, however the essence of the words will be there. 

 

8 Responses to Reviews and Media

  1. Jan Kerr says:

    This was a very refreshing read, particularly so as aging parents develop dementia. This book could be used as a trip down memory lane or as a memory aid if you’re fortunate enough to still have your mom around. It could also be used as a teaching aid in schools. Our younger children already make handprints, picture frames etc for mothers day why not a more indepth project for the 9 – 12 year olds. It needn’t be restricted to just mom, why not dad or that very special adult in your life. Ms Harpell has struck a chord. Well done

    Like

    • Lexa says:

      Thank you Jan for your beautiful reply. I do hope this can make a difference in families lives who have a loved one with dementia. It certainly made a difference in my life expressing my emotions and gratitude to my mum and I sensed my mum understood my gift to her behind her dementia. Again, thank you Jan for your kind words. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: How do you celebrate Mother’s Day if your mum has dementia ? | To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul

  3. Pingback: Mother’s Day was created for a reason…touch her soul this year… | To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul

  4. Pingback: ‘My intention was to give my mum a heartfelt give, it also turned out to be the greatest gift I gave to myself’… | To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul

  5. Pingback: If your mum can’t remember Mother’s Day – you can show her. Dementia. | To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul

  6. Pingback: If you mum has dementia, bless her with this gift on Mother’s Day | To Mum, Gifts from Your Soul

  7. Pingback: My Books | Lexa Harpell – Author – Travel – Photography

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s